Concrete Wolf Banner

Laura Jan Shore

Laura Jan Shore is an expat currently living in NSW, Australia. Her poetry collections include Breathworks (Dangerously Poetic Press, 2002), Water over Stone (Interactive Press, 2011), Afterglow (Interactive Press, 2020). Published in anthologies and literary journals on four continents, she received her MFA in Poetry from Pacific University in 2019.

Laura's web site

2023 Louis Award Winner

All the submissions were very strong, making for a very difficult decision. Ultimately, judge Lana Hechtman Ayers chose as winner The Generosity of Birds by Laura Jan Shore.

Lana says: The poems of The Generosity of Birds are vivid, honest, vulnerable, brazen, and fully-experienced.



Jeffrey Bernstein
Carey Taylor
The Ancient Ways
Some Aid to Navigation


Jay Brecker
Thomas Cox
Linda Scheller
Henry Hughes
Mary Paulson
Joshua Coben
blue collar ecologue
The Book of Faces
Sergeant Dark
The World Above You

Honorable Mentions

Sheila Dietz
C.W. Emerson
David Blumenfeld
Sarah Snyder
Susanna Lang
Robert Manaster
Vincent Peloso
Tim Mayo
Margot Wizansky
Margaret Koger
Sandra Fees
The Berry and the Bee
Danger Face
The End of the Season
Eve Speaks
Honey Tasting of Stars
The Last Jew
The Listeners
Little Elegies Inside Out
Random Music in a Small Galaxy
Surviving Aphrodite